Friday News Round-up

Here’s a recap of this week’s news from the magazine industry:

GUITAR WORLD, TOTAL FILM and T3 publisher Future US will accelerate its transition to digital-only publications in America, phasing out print over the next 12 to 15 months.  The news came in the wake of steeper than expected losses and falling stock prices for the UK-based company…

READERS DIGEST ASSOCIATION put itself on the block, seeking a buyer and hoping for a $1 billion purchase price.  RDA Inc publishes more than 90 magazines, including the flagship READERS DIGEST and EVERY DAY WITH RACHAEL RAY.  The company, which emerged from bankruptcy one year ago, may be sold as a whole or in parts…

AMERICAN EXECUTIVE and INSIDE HEALTHCARE b2b publisher Schofield Media abruptly shuttered all U.S. operations this week.  Employees were notified at work on Monday, and publications that currently were at the printer were not released.  Although no explanation was given, the UK-based company reportedly had lost bank funding for its American divisions.  Other affected titles included BEVERAGE WORLD, CONSTRUCTION TODAY and MANUFACTURING TODAY…

EBONY and JET founder John H. Johnson will be honored by the U.S. Postal Service with a 2012 Forever Stamp as part of its Black Heritage series.  Johnson began his publishing and media career in the 1940s, and was the first African American to be listed by FORBES as one of the 400 wealthiest people in America…

W MAGAZINE said goodbye to senior fashion market editor Carolyn Tate Angel…

HELLO! CANADA lost beauty and lifestyle editor Malena Harbers.  No word of a replacement…

THE NEW YORK OBSERVER named Andrew Russeth, arusseth@observer.com, as an editor and reporter covering visual arts…

BLOOMBERG BUSINESSWEEK moved up Barrett Sheridan, bsheridan3@bloomberg.net, to technology editor.  Sheridan had been associate editor there since June of last year…

GLAMOUR hired new entertainment editorial assistant Caitlin Brody, caitlin_brody@condenast.com.  Previously she was an editorial assistant at THEBUMP…

OUT will welcome Jerry Portwood, jportwood@heremedia.com, on July 25 as the magazine’s new managing editor, replacing Jessanne Collins who left to take up the same post at MENTAL FLOSS…

MARLIN sports fishing magazine named Scott Shane, scott.hsne@bonniercorp.com, as the new editor-in-chief.  He moved over from Bonnier sister publication YACHTING.  In further shufflings at Bonnier…

BOATING magazine tapped Sue Whitney, sue.whitney@bonniercorp.com, as managing editor following a staff overhaul. Before coming to Boating, she was managing editor of PARENTING EARLY YEARS and PARENTING SCHOOL YEARS…

SPORT FISHING welcomed Mike Mazur, mike.mazur@bonniercorp.com, as a new senior editor, making a switch from his job at BOATING magazine…

TABLET MAGAZINE, covering contemporary Jewish life, named David Samuels, dsamuels@tabletmag.com, as literary editor.  Samuels had been an editorial consultant to Tablet since November of 2010.  Tablet also brought in Bari Weiss, bweiss@tabletmag.com, as the new senior editor overseeing news and politics.  Weiss was an assistant features editor at the WALL STREET JOURNAL since 2008…

DETAILS snagged Mike Guy, mike_guy@condenast.com, as articles editor.  Guy comes to Details from the inflight mag HEMISPHERES, where he served as editor-in-chief…

ESSENCE appointed Michael Bullerdick, mbulerdick@essence.com, as the new managing editor.  Previously he was corporate managing editor for American Media…

MEN’S HEALTH Editor-in-Chief Dave Zinczenko, david.zinczenko@rodale.com, was promoted by Rodale to executive vice president and editorial director for PREVENTION and ORGANIC GARDENING, overseeing both print and online editorial.  He will continue in his post as EIC for Men’s Health, which he has held since 2000…

COMPUTERWORLD senior managing editor Michele Lee DeFilippo, mdefilippo@computerworld.com, left on July 22 to pursue a freelance editorial career…

INSTITUTIONAL INVESTOR and INSTITUTIONAL INVESTOR INTERNATIONAL promoted Michael Peltz, mpeltz@institutionalinvestor.com, to editor, replacing William Inman…

COMPLEX magazine lost lifestyle editor Bradley Carbone.  No replacement has been named.

GO, AirTran’s inflight magazine, promoted Peter Koch, peter.koch@ink-global.com, to executive editor, replacing Brooke Porter who departed.  Koch had been an associate editor for the publication…

ESSENCE welcomed back Vanessa Bush, vbush@essence.com, as executive editor.  Bush originally held the same post there from 2005 to 2008.  Prior to that, she served at the magazine in a variety of other positions including lifestyle director, senior parenting and features editor, and fashion and beauty features editor…

NYMAG.COM brought in Stephanie Trong, Stephanie_trong@nymag.com, as fashion editor.  She had been deputy editor at LUCKY since October 2010…

DEPARTURES hired Heather Halberstadt, heather.e.halberstadt@aexp.com, as the luxe magazine’s new features editor.  Previously she was senior features editor a WSJ MAGAZINE.  Also new to the Departures staff, Jessica Flint, Jessica.m.flint@aexp.com, who was added as the new digital editor…

BETTTER HOMES & GARDENS named Amy Palanjian, amy.palanjian@meredith.com, as the senior food editor for special interest media…

THE DEAL said hello to Paula Schaap, pschaap@thedeal.com, the new associate editor overseeing market coverage…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: