Friday news round-up for August 5th

You made it to Friday, and if you were too busy to keep up this week, here’s a summary of industry news:

WOMEN’S WEAR DAILY gave its website, http://www.wwd.com, a makeover this week.  New digital features include an image carousel in the upper left, breaking news with a “Just In” label at the center, a tri-column structure with more white space, and enhanced content for paying subscribers.  The “Fashion Shows” section has been renamed the “Runway Channel,” with stories and images from backstage.  Features such as “Memo Pad,” “EYE” and “Fashion Scoops” remain free to visitors.  In addition to the website changes, WWD’s parent company, a division of Conde Nast, announced it would now be known as Fairchild Fashion Media…

ESPN RISE magazine, website and broadcast platforms have been renamed ESPN HIGH SCHOOL.  The name is the only reported change to the brand, since the focus, editorial content, frequency and staff all remain the same.  Alison Overholt, alison.overholt@espn.com, will continue as editor-in-chief.  Visit the site at http://www.espnhighschool.com…

HOUSE BEAUTIFUL will debut a new logo with the September issue.  Two new columns also will appear; “Master Class,” focused on established interior designers, and “The Next Wave,” covering up-and-coming design talent…

LUCKY snagged Lauren Sherman, Lauren_sherman@condenast.com, as the new executive digital editor.  She comes to Lucky from her previous post as executive editor for FASHIONISTA…

THE ATLANTIC welcomed new managing editor Jennifer Barnett, jbarnett@theatlantic.com.  Before taking her new position, Barnett served as managing editor for PARKS & RECREATION magazine…

VANITY FAIR hired Heather Shimokawa, heather_shimokawa@vf.com, as the new senior market editor.  Previously she was a fashion editor for BEST LIFE and MEN’S JOURNAL…

CHICAGO PARENT said goodbye to web editor Liz Hoffman.  No replacement has yet been named…

CHARTATTACK, the online Canadian music publication, abruptly suspended operations on July 29.  The announcement came from managing editor Aaron Brophy, and no reason was given.  Chartattack.com was an offshoot and survivor of the now-defunct CHART print magazine…

TOWN & COUNTRY saw a flurry of staff changes.  Michael Callahan, deputy editor since September of 2010, departed the magazine, while T&C welcomed Kevin Conley, kconley@hearst.com, as the new arts editor.  Sophie Pera, spera@hearst.com, arrived to take her new post as fashion market editor.  Previously she was an associate fashion editor for VOGUE…

VOGUE, having lost Sophie Pera, has not yet found a replacement for her position…

THE HOLLYWOOD REPORTER promoted Erik Pedersen, erik.pedersen@thr.com, from music editor and copy chief to the publication’s managing editor.  No replacements have been named to fill Pedersen’s previous posts…

SHAPE brought on board Melissa Goldstein, mgoldstein@shape.com, to serve as both deputy editor and executive beauty director.  She comes to the magazine from BETTER HOMES & GARDENS, where she was beauty director…

GLAMOUR lost associate editor for health, Margarita Bertsos, no new email address yet, as she migrated to REDBOOK to serve as health director.  No replacement has been announced.  Bertsos replaces Erin Hobday, erin_hobday@condenast.com, who left to take a position as features and projects director for SELF.  This is Hobday’s second stint with Self, having worked there as diet and nutrition editor from 2007 to 2010…

MAC LIFE, MAXIMUM PC and MAXIMUM TECH editorial director, Jon Phillips, left publisher Future US, Inc to freelance full time.  No replacement has been announced…

SPORTSNET, a Canadian magazine set to launch in September, has named Steve Maich, no email available, as editor-in-chief and publisher.  Most recently Maich has been editor-in-chief of CANADIAN BUSINESS magazine, and group publisher for CB, PROFIT and MONEYSENSE. No replacement has been announced for those publications…

Scroll down to find additional info about this week’s featured new magazines and relaunches.  Check back frequently for more titles and fresh content.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: