Friday News Round-Up for September 30th

Here we are at the final day of September, and here is a brief summary of news to complete your month.  As always, magazine titles with an asterisk* can be found in the Wooden Horse database.

CYCLE WORLD* was purchased by Bonnier from Hearst, which had picked up the title as part of the Lagardere acquisition.  The magazine joins Bonnier’s  other special-interest publications…

COLUMBIA GORGE MAGAZINE, a regional lifestyle publication based in Oregon, will cease print with the fall issue.  Offered free as well as online, the magazine has been produced for eight years…

151 magazines launched and only 119 folded in the first nine months of 2011, according to CRAIN’S NEW YORK BUSINESS*.  This represents a slight improvement over the same period last year, when 144 titles debuted and 122 were shuttered…

WOMEN’S WEAR DAILY* said goodbye to market editor Zeke Turner. No replacement has been named…

CANADIAN BUSINESS JOURNAL accepted the resignation of global Editor-in-Chief Sara Kopanees…

CANADIAN BUSINESS JOURNAL tapped Anna Guy, annag@georgemedia.ca, as the new global editor-in-chief, replacing Sara Kopanees…

CREATIVE LOAFING/ATLANTA welcomed Eric Celeste, eric.celeste@creativeloafing.com, as the publication’s new editor-in-chief…

FITNESS* magazine named Marianne Magno, marianne.magno@meredith.com, as associate web editor…

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER* lost managing editor Scott Stuckey, who had served in that position since 2009…

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER* named Norie Quintos, nquintos@ngs.org, as executive editor, and appointed her to take over the duties of former managing editor Scott Stuckey.  Quintos has been with the publication since 1998…

AFAR* magazine promoted Julia Cosgrove, julia@afar.com, from executive editor to editor-in-chief…

AFAR* also promoted Jeremy Saum, jeremy@afar.com, from managing editor to executive editor…

AFAR* magazine hired Serena Renner, serena@afar.com, as assistant editor for the “Stay,” “Wander” and “Experience” sections…

If you have the time to loiter for a few minutes, scroll down and check out additional news and posts on the blog.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: