Wednesday News Round-Up for October 12

So you’ve made it through Wednesday (and what used to be known as Columbus Day), and now you’re on the downhill run towards the weekend.  Take a moment to sit back and read the latest news.  Magazines with an asterisk* are listed in the Wooden Horse Database.

BREAKING NEWS:
EVERY DAY WITH RACHAEL RAY* will be sold by Reader’s Digest Association (RDA) to Meredith.  The sale was announced today, and the transaction should be completed later this fall.  Concerning the matter, RDA stated that, “Going forward it was not a fit with our master brand strategy.”

EVERY DAY WITH RACHAEL RAY* Editor-in-Chief Liz Vaccariello, liz_vaccariello@rd.com, has been appointed to the newly-created position of chief content officer and editor-in-chief for the Reader’s Digest community, across all brands.  She will take up her new post on November 1…

READER’S DIGEST* global Editor-in-Chief Peggy Northrup is leaving the company, as of October 31.  Northrup will continue as an advisor and an international editor-at-large…

VOGUE* was chosen as AD AGE* magazine of the year for 2011.  MONOCLE Editor-in-Chief Tyler Brule made the list for editor of the year…

MILLER-MCCUNE magazine named Maria Streshinsky, mstreshinsky@miller-mccune.com, as editor-in-chief…

FOOD & WINE* bid farewell to assistant editor Kelly Snowden…

SPIN* tapped Caryn Ganz, cganz@spin.com, for the newly created position of online editor-in-chief…

SPIN* plans a redesign of Spin.com next year, overseen by new online Editor-in-Chief Caryn Ganz…

SPIN* named Christopher R. Weingarten, cweingarten@spin.com, as a senior editor…

SPIN* now has a new associate editor, David Bevan, dbevan@spin.com…

US WEEKLY* Editor-in-Chief Mike Steele, mike.steele@usweekly.com, signed on with Wenner Media for another two-year stint…

THE COMMERCIAL OBSERVER tapped Jotham Sederstrom, jsederstrom@observer.com, as the weekly’s new editor…

TV GUIDE* welcomed Lindsay Silberman, lindsay.silberman@tvguide.com, as a staff editor covering TV and social media…

BOYS LIFE* said goodbye to Brad Riddell, associate editor for arts and entertainment…

FOREIGN POLICY* magazine welcomed new deputy managing editor Cara Parks, cara.parks@foreignpolicy.com…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: