Billboard goes a little bit country with a new mini-magazine

BILLBOARD has launched a special edition mini-magazine exclusively devoted to country music, sold only through Target stores and the Billboard.com website.

The 48-page publication includes artist interviews, reviews, a fold-out calendar and a companion CD with recordings by well-known country music artists.  The inaugural issue features two different collectible covers.

Produced through a partnership with Stache Media, the new magazine has an initial distribution of 30,000 copies.  For more information visit www.facebook.com/TheDirtRoad.

Advertisements

A Canadian magazine shifts focus and changes titles

CANADIAN REAL ESTATE magazine has rebranded and changed its title to CANADIAN REAL ESTATE WEALTH (CREW).

The name change, made in early December, reflects a shift in editorial focus, with a new emphasis on real estate investment.  Now the publication includes extra content to assist readers in making the transition from homeowners to real estate investors.  Managing editor Nila Sweeney says it reflects “the growing diversity of our readership.”

Contact managing editor Nila Sweeney at nila.sweeney@keymedia.com.au.  Visit the website at www.canadianrealestatemagazine.ca.

TIME revives a luxury brand extension

TIME STYLE & DESIGN, a semiannual print supplement to TIME magazine, will relaunch in March of 2012, after being shuttered in 2009.

Targeting an affluent, influential audience, the publication will cover international travel, cooking, art, architecture, design and decorating.  This represents a broader focus than the previous edition, which relied more heavily on fashion-oriented content.

Readers will get their first look with the March 26 issue of Time.  An initial circulation of 500,000 is planned, and will be sent to households with a minimum income of $125,000.  Kate Betts, kate_betts@timemagazine.com, is the editor-in-chief.

A new magazine rolls out for the skateboard industry

AXS LONGBOARD RETAILER, a quarterly targeting skateboard shops and suppliers, debuted this month with a winter issue.

The print B2B covers store business success, marketing, equipment, industry forecasts and more.  Based in Vancouver, BC, the magazine is a spin-off from the website of the same name, which launched in January 2011, and is meant for a global audience.

An initial circulation of 5,000 copies was distributed to retail shops, equipment suppliers and trade shows in the US and Canada.  AXS joins sister publication CONCRETE WAVE.  Contact publisher Michael Brooke, mbrooke@interlog.com, for editorial information.  Find the website at www.axslongboardretailer.com.

Friday News Round-Up for December 23rd

Happy Holidays to all our readers!  We wish you all safe and joyful celebrations.  Believe it or not, magazine biz news continues to trickle in, so take a minute to stay informed, then on with the merriment.  When you see an asterisk*, that indicates a magazine from our Wooden Horse Database.

CANADIAN REAL ESTATE magazine has rebranded as CANADIAN REAL ESTATE WEALTH with the January 2012 issue.  Find more info at http://www.canadianrealestate.ca…

DWELL* promoted Amanda Dameron, adameron@dwell.com, to new editor-in-chief, replacing Sam Grawe.  Dameron had been executive editor…

DWELL* added new senior editor Kelsey Keith, kelsey@dwell.com…

DWELL* brought in new photo editor Anna Alexander, aalexander@dwell.com…

LUCKY* tapped Deb Schwartz, deb_schwartz@condenast.com, as the new executive editor, replacing Daniell Pergament…

INC* welcomed Rachel Elson, relson@inc.com, as managing editor for the magazine’s website…

SLATE* hired new editorial assistant Katy Waldman, katy.waldman@slate.com, at its DC bureau…

BEST HEALTH* in Canada lost associate editor Lisa Hannam.  No replacement has been named…

GLOW* magazine in Canada snagged Lisa Hannam, no email yet, as the new health editor…

SHAPE* picked up new beauty diector Alyssa Kolsky Hertzig, ahertzig@shape.com…

FOREIGN POLICY* magazine lost features editor Charles Homans.  No replacement has been named…

POLITICO will welcome Rachel Van Dongen, vandongen@washpost.com, in January, as the new deputy politics editor…

CRM—CUSTOMER RELATIONS MANAGEMENT magazine welcomed Kelly Liyakasa, kliyakasa@infotoday.com as an associate editor…

STREET CHOPPER and BAGGERS magazines promoted Bill Hamilton, bill.hamilton@sorc.com, to editor-in-chief for both publications…

Wednesday News Round-Up for December 21st

Here are a few bits of news that sifted through the holiday parties and vacation time.  Check back throughout the next two weeks, as we’ll be adding news items and new magazines.  Titles with asterisks* are included in the Wooden Horse Database.

GLAMOUR* hired Catherine Romano, catherine_romano@condenast.com, for the newly created post of senior executive editor, beginning January 3.  Currently Romano serves as executive editor for US WEEKLY*…

KIWI* magazine named Marissa Iallonardo, miallonardo@maymediagroup.com, as an associate editor…

SMITHSONIAN* magazine plans a major rebranding in 2012, adopting the new tagline, ‘Seriously Amazing’…

NORTHERN VIRGINIA* magazine brought in new dining editor Stephanie Gans, gansie@endlesssimmer.com…

NORTHWEST RUNNER welcomed Heather Romano, heathernwr@eschelon.com, as editor…

An established consumer electronics mag gets a new name and focus

E-GEAR MAGAZINE will relaunch as TELL MAGAZINE in January 2012.

Broadening its editorial focus, the magazine will cover, “every consumer electronics category imaginable,” according to the Consumer Technology Publishing Group, which produces the publication.  Look for articles and reviews of wireless phones, digital cameras, audio players, computers, accessories, mobile entertainment and gaming.

With the new tagline, ‘Technology for Everyday Life,’ the magazine will be published nine times a year and have a print circulation of 125,000.  Mike McEnaney, mmcenaney@napco.com, is the editor.  Find the new website at www.technologytell.com.