Friday News Round-Up for January 13th

Congratulations! You made it through what is for many, the first full work week of 2012.  Catch up on the end-of-week news as you start a well-deserved weekend break.  When you see an asterisk* next to a magazine title, that means you can find it in the Wooden Horse Database.

GUITAR WORLD*, REVOLVER and GUITAR AFICIONADO* were sold by owner Future US to New Bay Media for $3 million, as Future offloads its music division in New York.  The company also will sell the New York property housing its offices there.  Future plans to use the cash to restructure its remaining American operations, including nine other magazines…

THE NEW REPUBLIC* owner denies press reports that the political magazine is looking for potential buyers or investors…

FOOD NETWORK MAGAZINE* will raise its rate base by 50,000 this summer, to 1.45 million, the seventh consecutive hike since it launched three years ago…

THE HUFFINGTON POST* will bid farewell to managing editor Nico Pitney on February 3…

THE HUFFINGTON POST* appointed Jimmy Soni, no email available, as the new managing editor beginning in February, replacing the departing Nico Pitney…

SPIN* will phase out album reviews in the magazine and move them to the magazine’s Twitter account…

PREVENTION* promoted Jessica Branch, jessica.branch@rodale.com, from senior editor to health director…

PREVENTION* promoted Molly Raisch, molly.raisch@rodale.com, from editorial assistant to associate editor…

PREVENTION* named Siobhan O’Connor, siobhan.o’connor@rodale.com, as deputy editor for the website and senior editor for the print magazine…

SELF* promoted Meaghan Murphy, meaghan_murphy@condenast.com…

LUCKY* picked up new beauty assistant Emily Gaynor, emily_gaynor@condenast.com…

US WEEKLY* welcomed Natalie Van der Meer, natalie.vandermeer@usmagazine.com, as assistant editor…

CRAIN’S DETROIT BUSINESS* promoted Jeanette Smith, jhsmith@crain.com, to managing editor…

CRAIN’S DETROIT BUSINESS* promoted Daniel Duggan, dduggan@crain.com, to deputy managing editor…

THE SOURCE hip hop magazine welcomed back Kim Osorio, kosorio@thesource.com, as editor-in-chief, a post she previously held from 2003-05…

VENTURE BEAT snagged Ben Popper, no email yet, as the new East Coast editor starting January 16…

GENOME TECHNOLOGY lost Editor-in-Chief Meredith Salisbury, and no replacement has been named…

SHOOTING SPORTS RETAILER magazine’s editorial and business operations will be taken over by Grand View Media, a subsidiary of EBSCO Industries…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: