Wednesday News Round-Up for January 25th

Here’s a serving of industry news to keep you up-to-date.  Titles with an asterisk* are included in the Wooden Horse Database.

Allrecipes.com is being purchased by Meredith from Reader’s Digest Association for $175 million.  The acquisition nearly doubles Meredith’s Women’s network, and the company hopes it will draw in a younger audience…

WOMAN’S DAY* Editor-in-Chief Elizabeth Mayhew “decided to leave the company,” according to a Hearst spokesperson.  Mayhew had been in the post since January 2010, and shepherded the magazine through the transition from Hachette Filipacchi to Hearst…

WOMAN’S DAY* appointed Susan Spencer, sspencer@hearst.com, as the new editor-in-chief, replacing Elizabeth Mayhew.  Spencer comes to the magazine from Time Inc’s ALL YOU, where she has been executive editor since 2007…

REALITY WEEKLY* magazine’s launch issue reportedly sold only 100,000 copies out of the 500,000 on newsstands, according to WOMEN’S WEAR DAILY*…

MEN’S FITNESS* launched its revamped website with new interactive features…

HEART & SOUL*, a wellness magazine targeting African-American women, was sold to a group of investors, after 18 years in print.  Former LATINA magazine Editor-in-Chief Sandra Guzman has been hired with an eye towards expanding the magazine’s reach and focus to Latina and Asian readers…

Stagnito Media, a B2B publishing company serving the grocery and convenience store market, was acquired by Topspin LBO, a New York-based private equity firm…

TRUCKIN’* magazine will debut a redesign, with plans to boost circulation to 23,000…

HUFFINGTON POST* welcomed Meredith Melnick, meredith.melnick@huffingtonpost.com, as editor for fitness and nutrition…

THE ATLANTIC* named Kevin Delaney, kdelaney@theatlantic.com, as editor-in-chief for its future global business brand…

SEVENTEEN* hired Tomoko Takeda, ttakeda@hearst.com, as senior beauty editor…

GLAMOUR* named Marina Khidekel, marina_khidekel@condenast.com, to as senior editor for health…

GLAMOUR* promoted Emma Rosenblum, emma_rosenblum@condenast.com, to senior editor…

NEW YORK MAGAZINE* senior editor Rachel Baker, rachel.baker@nymag.com, also will serve as strategist editor, covering fashion , real estate, travel, interior design and shopping…

US WEEKLY* said goodbye to West coast news editor and book editor Natalie Thomas…

HEALTH* magazine’s senior lifestyle editor Christina Tudino has stepped down…

BRIDES* managing editor Danine Alati left the publication, and no replacement has been named…

TRANSWORLD SNOWBOARDING* promoted Nick Hamilton, nick.hamilton@transworldsnowboarding.net, to content director…

XXL MAGAZINE bid farewell to associate editor Amber McKynzie…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: