Wednesday News Round-Up for February 29th

Happy Leap Day everyone! Don’t you love that every four years we get an extra day to…do what we normally would do on March 1st?  Anyhoo, the news is pouring in after last week’s doldrums, so take a minute to catch up on what you missed.  As always, titles with an asterisk* can be found in the Wooden Horse Database.

ESPN THE MAGAZINE* will go to an all-themed format, devoting each issue to an in-depth look at one topic, such as analytics in team construction, Title IX for women’s sports and determining the greatest teams and athletes in sports.  The magazine still plans for 24 issues per year…

PREGNANCY* magazine unveiled its first all-digital edition since ceasing the print publication, and now will follow a new themed topic format.  Each issue will focus on a specific information category for expectant mothers.  Six issues are planned for 2012…

BUSINESSWEEK.COM* debuted a website redesign, with an updated look, new features and more links to Bloomberg.com.  The change is meant to bring the website’s brand more closely in line with the print magazine…

Penton’s tech group magazines will go completely digital beginning in May, including WINDOWS IT PRO*, DEV PRO, POWER IT PRO and SLQ SERVER PRO.  Only the high-end SYSTEM INEWS PRO VIP will remain a print publication…

SPA* magazine ceased publication…

THE HEALTH JOURNAL, a Toronto-based magazine, has ceased print, and the publisher is said to be insolvent and no longer operating…

YES MAG* and KNOW, two Canadian science magazines for youth, both ceased print on February 1…

MARTHA STEWART LIVING* welcomed Jessica Romm Perez, jromm@marthastewart.com and @JessicaRomm, as lifestyle editor…

MARTHA STEWART LIVING* named Kelly Alfieri, kalfieri@marthastewart.com, as digital editorial director…

MARTHA STEWART LIVING* snagged Robin Sayers, rsayers@marthastewart.com, as beauty and lifestyle director…

AVENUE* magazine picked up Michael Gross, mgross@manhattanmedia.com and @MGrossGripepad, as real estate editor…

LOS ANGELES MAGAZINE* will welcome Nancy Miller, nmiller@lamag.com and @nmillions, as deputy editor beginning March 13…

LOS ANGELES MAGAZINE* will have Elina Shatkin, eshatkin@lamag.com and @elinashatkin, as senior editor starting March 6…

TECHCRUNCH promoted Eric Eldon, eldon@techcrunch.com and @eldon, from senior editor to editor-in-chief…

PURE magazine in Quebec appointed new Editor-in-Chief Pascale Jacquin, pjacquin@mediastjoseph.com and @PascaleJacquin…

SURFING* magazine promoted Taylor Paul, taylor@surfingmagazine.com, to editor-in-chief…

INDESIGN MAGAZINE lost Editor-in-Chief Terri Stone…

INDESIGN MAGAZINE editorial director David Blatner, david@indesignmag.com and dblatner, is serving as interim editor…

GARDENING HOW-TO* magazine bid farewell to associate editor Elyse Lucas.  No replacement has been named…

REMINISCE* magazine name Matthew Phenix, editors@reminisce.com and @mattphenix, as the new brand editor…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: