Friday News Round-Up for March 9th

Good news! An extra hour of daylight beginning this weekend!  Bad news!  You’re going to lose an hour of sleep on Sunday.  I guess it kind of depends on whether you’re a glass-half-full or glass-half-empty person.  Anyway, you’ve been warned.  Grab some news while you’re here, and remember that all titles with an asterisk* are included in the fabulous Wooden Horse Database.

HGTV MAGAZINE* got the go-ahead from Hearst to publish four more issues in 2012.  The magazine is hoping for a guaranteed circulation of 450,000 by May…

THE NEW REPUBLIC* has been sold to Facebook co-founder Chris Hughes, who will serve as publisher and editor-in-chief.  No word on how large a sum Hughes paid for his major stake in the magazine…

ELLE* picked up assistant editor Justine Harmon, jharmon@hearst.com and @JustineHarmon…

SEVENTEEN* will bid farewell to features associate editor Elisa Benson on March 13. No replacement has been named…

HUFFINGTON POST* now has Emily Cohn, emily.cohn@huffingtonpost.com, as editor for the new money section…

PSYCHOLOGY TODAY* named Jane Nussbaum, jane@psychologytoday.com, as senior editor…

ORGANIC SPA* appointed Rona Berg, ronab@organicspamagazine.com and @RonaBerg, as the new executive editor…

HEALTH* magazine lost food and nutrition director Frances Largeman Roth…

HEALTH* appointed Lisa Brainerd, lisa_brainerd@health.com, as acting food & nutrition director…

HEALTH* welcomed Olivia Rassow, olivia_rassow@health.com, as an editorial assistant…

CONGRESSIONAL QUARTERLY lost transportation editor Kathryn Wolfe…

MEETINGS + EVENTS hired new website editor Ada Walton, ada.walton@tigeroak.com and @adakatarina…

MINNESOTA MONTHLY no longer has senior editor Dara Moskowitz Grumdahl…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: