Friday News Round-Up for May 4th

Happy Cinco de Mayo out there!  Before you celebrate this weekend with some tasty south-of-the-border treats and tunes, catch up on the industry news so you’ll be in the know.  All publications with an asterisk* can be found in the Wooden Horse Database.

TIME* won for Magazine of the Year at the National Magazine Awards on Thursday, May 3, in New York…

SELF* Editor-in-Chief Lucy Danziger was elected President of the American Society of Magazine Editors (ASME)…

VOGUE* editors from the magazine’s 19 international editions have signed a pact, agreeing to promote a healthier body image, and not to use models who are younger than 16 or appear to suffer from eating disorders…

ADVENTURE NORTHWEST magazine was purchased in April by John D’Onofrio, no email available, who will serve as publisher and editor.  He has been a contributor to the publication since its first issue in 2006, and has plans for new features and special sections…

SCIENCE* magazine Editor-in-Chief Bruce Alberts, balberts@aaas.org, announced he’ll depart by March of 2013…

BRIDES* bid farewell to associate managing editor Jackie Lebowitz…

BRIDES* brought in Jennifer Dixon, jennifer_dixon@condenast.com, as the new associate managing editor…

MEN’S HEALTH* and WOMEN’S HEALTH* picked up Jackie Lebowitz, jacqueline.lebowitz@rodale.com, as special projects editor…

CRAIN’S NEW YORK BUSINESS* promoted Jeremy Smerd, jsmerd@crain.com and @smerd, to assitant managing editor…

INSTYLE* snagged Jessica Henderson, jessica_henderson@instylemag.com, as senior editor for the ‘What’s Now’ section…

W MAGAZINE* will say goodbye to beauty editor Christina Han on May 24…

POWDER* promoted Mike Rogge, mike@powder.com and @skiingrogge, from associate editor to managing editor…

POWDER* welcomed John Stifter, john@powder.com and @johnnystifter, as a senior editor…

POWDER* hired John Clary Davies, davies@powder.com and @johnclarydavies, as an associate editor…

WASHINGTON LIFE magazine promoted Anne Kim, anne@washingtonlife.com, from managing editor to editorial director…

WASHINGTON LIFE promoted Allison McLaughlin, allisonm@washingtonlife.com, to deputy managing editor…

YOGA INTERNATIONAL tapped Linda Sparrowe, lsparrowe@himalayaninstitute.org and @yogasparrowe, as editor-in-chief…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: