Wednesday News Round-Up for July 11th

Okay, people…forget about E-coli at the next cookout!  Apparently there are new horrors…barbeque-loving meat-eaters showing up in hospitals, having consumed metal bristles from bbq grill brushes.  So be safe out there.  In the meantime, check out the latest industry news, and remember that all titles with an asterisk* are part of our oh-so-helpful Wooden Horse Database.

SPIN* has been acquired by BuzzMedia. The company says it will invest more in the magazine’s editorial resources and make some changes in management…

PARENTS* magazine’s website will get a redesign and upgrade.  The changes, according to publisher Meredith, will make the site more user friendly and interactive, as well as offer a new look and feel…

DOGS IN CANADA magazine could return to print in the future.  The Canadian Kennel Club is circulating a request for proposal (RFP) seeking a new publishing partner…

TRAVEL WEEKLY* and MEETINGS & CONVENTIONS* publisher, Northstar Travel Media, has been acquired by the Wicks Group from BV Investment Partners, both private equity groups…

SESSION WEEKLY, the magazine of the Minnesota state legislature, is ceasing print after 29 years.  The focus will shift to online and social media outlets…

SHAPE* welcomed new managing editor Lisa Loverro, lloverro@shape.com…

BON APPETIT* appointed Stacey Rivera, stacey_rivera@condenast.com, as managing editor…

MARTHA STEWART WEDDINGS* named Robin Sayers, rsayers@marthastewart.com, as the new executive editor…

EVERY DAY WITH RACHAEL RAY* bid farewell to managing editor Luke Braun…

SELF* said goodbye to Sarah Schmidt, who served as assistant to the editor-in-chief…

VANITY FAIR* snapped up Sarah Schmidt, sarah_schmidt@condenast.com, as an editorial assistant…

SELF* appointed Zahra Barnes, zahra_barnes@condenast.com, as assistant to the editor-in-chief…

THE ATLANTIC* is without associate editor Jared Keller…

SLATE* welcomed Laura helmuth, laura.helmuth@slate.com & @laurahelmuth, as the new science & health editor…

US WEEKLY* said goodbye to staff editor Natasha Wolff, who covered books…

BUSINESS INSURANCE magazine hired new managing editor Paul Bomberger, pbomberger@businessinsurance.com & @riskchief…

TODAY’S CHICAGO WOMAN named Carrie Williams, cwilliams@tcwmag.com and @CarrieAWilliams, as managing editor…

CHARISMA Christian magazine hired new associate editor Shawn Akers, shawn.akers@charismamedia.com…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: