Wednesday News Round-Up for July 18th

We’re in that summer lull, before the London Olympics or even the release of The Dark Knight Rises.  So for now we’re forced to make our own fun.  In the meantime, don’t leave without checking the latest industry news.  If you see an asterisk* next to a magazine title, you can find it in our Wooden Horse Database.

SPORTS ILLUSTRATED* and Time Inc Sports Group reportedly will announce tomorrow, July 19, that staff reductions affecting 16 editorial staffers are complete.   As many as 13 employees are leaving voluntarily and three have been laid off, accounting for 8% of the staff…

LONNY* digital magazine has been acquired by Zimbio Inc, parent company of Zimbio.com and StyleBistro.com.  Zimbio says it does not yet have a strategy in place, or a projected launch date for the three-year-old magazine’s debut across all digital devices…

STAR* and SHAPE* publisher American Media Inc is implementing a new digital media plan, in the wake of hiring Joe Bilman, the company’s first chief digital officer.  The plan includes hiring an additional 60 staffers…

LUCKY* magazine will launch an entirely user-generated section online, beginning in August.  Labeled ‘Lucky Community,’ the new section reportedly is designed to engage readers with interactive content and compete with the increasing popularity of fashion bloggers…

WEDDING BELLS magazine in Canada is unveiling a front-to-back redesign with the fall/winter issue.  The biannual glossy has a new look and color scheme…

THE ATLANTIC* appointed new online health editor Dr. James Hamblin, jhamblin@theatlantic.com…

ARCHITECTURAL DIGEST* ousted executive editor Sarah Medford on Thursday, July 5…

ARCHITECTURAL DIGEST* promoted Stephen Wallis, stephen_wallis@condenast.com, from features editor to the new executive editor…

ARCHITECTURAL DIGEST* snagged new articles editor Julie Coe, julie_coe@condenast.com, who comes to the magazine from DEPARTURES*…

ARCHITECTURAL DIGEST* hired new online features editor Michael Mraz, michael_mraz@condenast.com, who until now has been with MEN’S VOGUE*…

MOTORCYCLIST* magazine welcomed back Marc Cook, marc.cook@sorc.com, as the new editor-in-chief.  Cook previously had worked at the publication as executive editor…

RECOMMEND magazine promoted Paloma Villaverde de Rico, paloma@worthit.com, from managing editor to editor-in-chief…

PHOENIX HOME & GARDEN* said goodbye to associate editor Susan Regan…

PHOENIX HOME & GARDEN* welcomed new assistant editor Shawndrea Corbin, scorbin@citiespub.com and @ShawCorbin…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: