Wednesday News Round-Up for August 15th

Call us crazy, but we can’t quite get a handle on the buzz and hype of TV’s Shark Week.  Sure, they’re fascinating creatures, but we encounter enough predatory behavior in our real lives.  If you’re taking a break from watching some toothy entertainment, check out the latest news bits.  All titles with an asterisk* can be found in the Wooden Horse Database…but you probably knew that, right?

FOLIO:*, covering the magazine industry, has gone to a limited paid access model to charge for online content, effective immediately.  Reportedly, the metered paywall is engineered to kick in after readers reach a limit of eight free articles…

COSMOPOLITAN* magazine’s legendary former Editor-in-Chief, Helen Gurley Brown, died in New York at the age of 90.  After writing the iconic book, Sex and the Single Girl, Brown took the helm at Cosmo in 1965 and remained there until 1997…

DISCOVER* magazine’s parent, Kalmbach Publishing, will close its New York offices by January 2013, and move the publication’s editorial team to the company’s headquarters in Waukesha, Wisconsin.  No word yet on how many of Discover’s 20 editorial staffers will make the move, but Editor-in-Chief Corey Powell and executive editor Pamela Weintraub will stay with the magazine…

WOMEN’S HEALTH* said goodbye to associate editor Brittany Risher…

SHAPE* snagged Brittany Risher, brisher@shape.com, as the new online associate editor…

PEOPLE STYLE WATCH* picked up new senor fashion features editor Emily Hebert, Emily_hebert@stylewatchmag.com…

XOJANE.COM welcomed new deputy editor Mandy Stadtmiller, mandy@xojane.com and @mandystadt…

CLIMBING magazine named Shannon Davis, sdavis@aimmedia.com, as editor-in-chief…

ASSOCIATION NOW, the magazine of The Center for Association Leadership, will relaunch in October…

BEVERAGE INDUSTRY magazine said goodbye to Editor-in-Chief Jennifer Zegler…

BEVERAGE INDUSTRY promoted Jessica Jacobsen, jacobsenj@bnpmedia.com, from managing editor to editor-in-chief…

MOBILE ENTERPRISE magazine named Lori Castle, lcastle@edgellmail.com, as the new editor-in-chief…

MODERN MATERIALS HANDLING welcomed Josh Bond, jbond@peerlessmedia.com, as an associate editor…

DALLAS CHILD brought in new web editor Carrie Steingruber, carrie@dfwchild.com…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: