Friday News Round-Up for August 24th

One of the hottest feeds on the Twitter machine these days belongs to the Mars rover, Curiosity. As informative as it is engaging, @MarsCuriosity gives voice and personality to the visiting robot.  Check it out the next time you’re tweeting when you should be doing something else.  Grab the latest industry news while you’re here.  All titles with an asterisk* are included in our Wooden Horse Database.

SMITHSONIAN* magazine is unveiling a redesign with the September issue, to be released on August 27.  Under the leadership of Editor-in-Chief Michael Caruso this year, the magazine has lured major name-brand writers to contribute and shifted to shorter, more accessible articles.  Now the look has been updated, using heavier glossy stock and new graphic design…

PREVENTION* ousted Editor-in-Chief Diane Salvatore on Thursday of this week.  Although circulation remains high at 2.8 million and newsstand sales are up, ad sales are reported to be disappointing…

NEW YORK MAGAZINE* snagged Rebecca Ramsey, rebecca_ramsey@nymag.com and @RebeccaRams, as the new fashion editor.  Ramsey comes to the magazine from LUCKY*, where she was a fashion market editor…

INSTYLE* co-founder and fashion director, Hal Rubenstein, will step down from his post in October…

O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE* promoted Kristina Lepore, klepore@hearst.com and @kristinalepore, to associate fashion market editor…

O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE* named Robin Beck, rbeck@hearst.com, as fashion market and accessories director…

O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE* hired Britton Taylor, btaylor@hearst.com, as a fashion assistant…

GQ* will welcome back Kevin Sintumuang, kevin_sintumuang@condenast.com and @sintumuang, as the new multimedia editor, overseeing editorial content for GQ.com.  In a previous stint, Sintumuang served at GQ as an associate editor…

GQ* promoted Will Welch, will_welch@condenast.com and @willwelch, to senior editor for style…

GQ* promoted Ted Stafford, ted_stafford@condenast.com, to fashion market director…

PC WORLD* said goodbye to Ginny Mies, associate editor covering audio players and phones…

NYLON* magazine welcomed back Rebecca Willa Davis, Rebecca@nylonmag.com and @RebeccaWD, as online executive editor…

OXYGEN* magazine promoted Helen Vong, hvong@oxygenmag.com and @HelenVong, from nutrition editor to deputy editor of digital content and special issues…

OXYGEN* magazine promoted Kirstyn Brown, kbrown@oxygenmag.com, from assistant editor to nutrition editor…

BUSINESS INSIDER* in July brought on board Jennifer Welsh, jwelch@businessinsider.com and @microbelover, as science editor…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: