Wednesday News Round-Up for September 12th

We don’t know if you caught sight of the iPhone 5 today during the great unveiling. Just beware…apparently the new model allows Siri to post your vocalizations to Facebook.  Imagine accidentally posting you thoughts onto your FB account.  Before your consider that disaster, check out the latest industry news.  All titles with an asterisk* are part of the Wooden Horse Database.

The Hearst intern class action lawsuit now has an estimated 3,000 plaintiffs, and may be decided sometime in 2013…

Nomad Editions, the digital magazine publisher which began three years ago, will close its last three titles, UNCORKED, SNOOTH WINE BUYERS GUIDE and HEMMINGS CLASSIC WHEELS…

GLAMOUR* magazine will debut a website redesign in October, featuring more visuals and video…

ESQUIRE* magazine will debut a spinoff supplement, ESQUIRE, WORKING, with the October issue.  The 56-page issue is being marketed as a one-off, at least for the time being…

THE DEAL financial magazine reportedly has been acquired by TheStreet, Inc. for $5.8 million…

T: THE NEW YORK TIMES STYLE MAGAZINE will increase its frequency to 11 times per year in 2012, and 12 times per year in 2013.  The publication launched in 2008 with just four issues…

CRITTERS USA annual magazine is ceasing print with the 2013 issue…

FERRETS USA magazine has ceased print with the 2012 issue, but information can still be found at http://www.smallanimalchannel.com…

SEVENTEEN* brought in new executive editor Bethany Heitman, bheitman@hearst.com…

SEVENTEEN* magazine promoted Kaitlin Menza, kmenza@hearrst.com and @heykmenz, to lifestyle editor…

FITNESS* magazine welcomed new associate beauty editor Molly Ritterbeck, molly.ritterbeck@meredith.com and @MollyRitt…

JET* welcomed Anslem Rocque, asrocque@jetmag.com, as the new managing editor…

ADVERTISING AGE* named Cotton Delo, cdelo@adage.com and @cottondelo, as the new San Francisco bureau chief…

BETTER HOMES & GARDENS* named Greg Kayko, greg.kayko@meredith.com and @gkayko, as the new managing editor…

BETTER HOMES & GARDENS* promoted Kelly Ryan Kegans, kelly.kegans@meredith.com, and @Bibliofiles1, to senior deputy editor…

BETTER HOMES & GARDENS* welcomed Melissa Feldman, melissa.feldman@meredith.com, as East Coast home editor…

BETTER HOMES & GARDENS* promoted Maggie Meyer, Maggie.meyer@meredith.com and @MargaretLauren, to senior food editor…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: