Friday News Round-Up for September 28th

In case you need a reason to feel old, the CD turns 30 years old on October 1.  On that day, Billy Joel’s ‘52nd Street’ compact disc was released in Japan.  While you consider the timelessness of CD technology, read up on the latest news.  Remember, all titles with an asterisk* are included in the Wooden Horse Database.

WSJ STYLE MAGAZINE no longer has Deborah Needleman as editor-in-chief…

T: THE NEW YORK TIMES MAGAZINE snagged new Editor-in-Chief Deborah Needleman, dneedleman@nytimes.com and @debbieneedles…

PREVENTION* brought in new editorial director and senior vice president Anne Alexander, anne.alexander@rodale.com…

SELF* welcomed new online features editor Rachel Jacoby, rachel_jacoby@condenast.com and @rjacoby13…

MAXIM* picked up new senior editor Laura Leu, laura.leu@gmail.com and @LauraLeu…

O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE* appointed Leigh Haber, lhaber@hearst.com and @leighhaber, as the new books editor…

SEVENTEEN* picked up new beauty assistant Amanda Elser, aelser@hearst.com and @amandaaelser…

SALON* now has new arts editor Kera Bolonik, kbolonik@salon.com and @KeraBolonik, at its New York bureau…

SEATTLE MAGAZINE* managing editor Kristen Russell has left the publication…

SEATTLE MAGAZINE* will welcome new managing editor Lisa Wogan, lisa.wogan@tigeroak.com, beginning October 1…

AVIATION WEEK* is promoting Joe Anselmo, joe_anselmo@aviationweek.com, from managing editor to editor-in-chief in January 2013…

MODERN HEALTHCARE* said goodbye to Editor-in-Chief David Burda, who was with the publication since 1987.  No replacement has been named.

MODERN HEALTHCARE* appointed chief of editorial operations John Thomas, jthomas@modernhealthcare.com, as the interim editor-in-chief, pending a replacement…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: