Capital relaunches website with expanded stable of editors and reporters

Capital New York logoCapital New York was recently acquired by Politico Publisher Robert Allbritton, who is now patterning it on his other website, Politico. The newly redesigned website will launch on Dec 3.

It will have more journalists and enhanced coverage to produce news “for and about the people and institutions that shape New York.” The site will focus sharply on the power trio of City Hall, Albany and the media industry.

Capital will “maintain a robust free site,” but most of the content will be available behind a paywall, which can be accessed with a “Pro” subscription. There are three of these premium plans: City Hall Pro, Albany Pro and Media Pro. All three will be free until early 2014.

City Hall and Albany coverage will be managed by Capital co-founder Josh Benson, jbenson@capitalnewyork.com, and media by the other co-founder, Tom McGeveran, tmcgeveran@capitalnewyork.com. Gillian Reagan, gillian@capitalnewyork.com, is managing editor.

Political coverage will be edited by Reid Pillifant, @reidpillifant, and JoAnne Wasserman, @Bkjowasserman. Media coverage is headed by Joe Pompeo, joe@capitalnewyork.com, @joepompeo with Matthew Lynch, mlynch@capitalnewyork.com, @mbradylynch, Alex Weprin, aweprin@capitalnewyork.com, @alexweprin, Nicole Levy, nicole@capitalnewyork.com, @AubernaLevy on magazines and Johana Bhuiyan, jbhuiyan@capitalnewyork.com, @JMBooyah covering digital media.

Millenials get their own TV channel – currently in beta

Fusion logoFusion, the partnership of ABC and Univision, finally went live on October 28 with a mix of hard news, commentary, sports and irreverence aimed at 16-30-year-olds.

The plan is to scale up, starting with 20 million homes and expanding to 60 million in the next few years.

The network is headquartered in a converted studio facility in the Miami suburb of Doral, FL. Rayner Ramirez, rayner.ramirez@fusion.net, is executive producer; Miguel Ferrer, miguel.ferrer@fusion.net, is digital executive producer; and Jessica Ramirez, jessica.ramirez@fusion.net, is managing news editor.

A new food blog joins celebrity, fashion, music and sports stable of blogs

The Savory blog logoThe Savory is a new food and beverage blog from LA-based Rev New Media, which also publishes such blogs as Hollyscoop and ModaMob.

This new blog features home cooking and preparing, recipes, seasonal trends, and instructional videos as well as other cooking and dining related content.

Rev New Media in Los Angeles is the publisher; their phone number is (323) 785-8200. T

Wichita, Kansas gets its own print magazine

Wichita magazine coverWICHITA magazine launched in September to showcase the city and all its benefits and features.

The editorial covers people, events, businesses, charities, politics, news, arts, fashion and life of the Wichita area. Its mission is to promote the concept of community in the entire Wichita metro-area.

The monthly title is published in Wichita and editor is Jeanie Hans, jeanie.hans@wichitamag.com. It is on Twitter @WichitaMag and Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/wichitamag

FU magazine debuts in Canada

Fashion Unlimited magazine coverFASHION UNLIMITED is a new Canadian title launching in mid-November.

It will target readers “obsessed with art, culture and fashion” and “style savvy ‘influentials’ with an average household income of $140,000.” Each edition will cover the work of emerging visual artists, designers, painters, collage artists, and photographers.

One issue costs CAN$13.99. Publisher is Flash Reproductions and Paul Sych, info@fashionunlimited.ca, is the founder. There is no website (that we can find) but the publisher is on Twitter at @flash_repro

Political website spins off print magazine to publish long-form journalism

Politico magazine coverPOLITICO, the print magazine, launched this week to provide hard-hitting reporting and original ideas about the stories that matter most in Washington and beyond.

The editorial aims to fill a dangerous vacuum in the rapidly transitioning world of journalism, with too few really big takes on big subjects holding leaders in Washington and beyond accountable, as news organizations retrench, cut back or find themselves distracted by the all-too-real imperatives of just staying in business.

Editor-in-chief Jim Harris hopes that the title will add magazine-style journalism to Politico, as well as augmenting “vitality impact to Politico’s daily report by marshaling the best outside contributors to produce analysis, argument and first-person perspectives on the news of the day.”

It is published by Allbritton Communications Co., the owner of several broadcast television stations, as well as Politico, the political journalism organization. Susan Glasser, sglasser@politico.com, is the editor. The website is at politico.com/magazine and the magazine is available on Twitter as @POLITICOMag

Crafters now have a new website to visit

eHow logoeHow Crafts is a new “vertical” on the eHow website.

“It will include everything, from tips on making felt flowers to learning how to make a yarn painting. The new channel will offer step-by-step text articles, video demonstrations, original photography, and even templates for printable coloring books,” a spokesperson said.

Prospective contributors: Be aware that eHow is owned by Demand Media, one of the so called “content farms,” but if you want to contact them for work, you can do so here.