Wednesday News Round-Up for October 24th

Were you among the breathless Apple fans anxiously awaiting the iPad mini’s debut yesterday?  Some were underwhelmed, in part because of cost.  While the size is indeed mini (weighing in at just .68 pounds), the price is not ($329).  It’s just $70 less than a full-size iPad, quite a bit higher than Kindle Fire.  Whatever device you’re reading this on, remember that all titles listed with an asterisk* here are included in the Wooden Horse Database.

NEWSWEEK* will actively push current subscribers to make a switch to the digital format ahead of closing the print magazine…

NEWSWEEK* reportedly is negotiating with Time Inc, which wants to buy Newsweek’s print subscriber list.  Time Inc purchased a subscriber list from US NEWS & WORLD REPORT* when its print product was shuttered…

HEALTHY COOKING magazine will shut down, and publisher Reader’s Digest Association will fold the title into TASTE OF HOME*.  Healthy Cooking’s 516,000 subscribers will be transferred to Taste of Home, and Taste of Home’s ‘Healthy Choices’ section will double in size…

TIME* debuted a website redesign, using “responsive design,” which adjusts for all media platforms, and is easier to navigate.  Visitors also will find a less cluttered layout with less red…

Publishers Rodale, Hearst and Time Inc are in talks with TV celeb Dr. Mehmet Oz to develop an eponymous health magazine…

WIRED* magazine announced it will increase its rate base for the eleventh consecutive year, hiking it to 825,000…

THE ADVOCATE*, the nation’s longest-running LGBT magazine, says rumors of its demise are completely false.  Erroneous reports claimed the publication would end at the end of 2012…

AMERICAN ARTIST* announced on October 17 that it has ceased publication after 75 years, and an estimated 45 employees will be laid off.  The magazine is published by Interweave, which was purchased by F + W Media in late July…

YOGA JOURNAL* will raise its rate base for 2013, from 350,000 to 375,000…

VEGETARIAN TIMES* is raising its rate base for next year, to 315,000…

ELLE* accessories director, Kate Davidson Hudson, has left the publication…

ELLE* senior accessories editor, Stefania Allen, has departed from the magazine…

HARPER’S BAZAAR* promoted Nicole Fritton, nfritton@hearst.com, to fashion market & accessories director…

HARPER’S BAZAAR* welcomed Joanna Hillman, jhillman@hearst.com and @johillman, as the new style director…

HARPER’S BAZAAR* named Elise Lipsky-Karasz, no email available, as the new features director, replacing Anamarie Wilson…

MARIE CLAIRE* no longer has assistant fashion editor Ashley Afriyie…

MARIE CLAIRE* promoted Jenna Blaha, jblaha@hearst.com, to assistant fashion editor…

ARCHITECTURAL DIGEST* welcomed new associate market editor Stephanie Schomer, stephanie_schomer@condenast.com…

WSJ. MAGAZINE* now will have Ruth Altchek, ruth.altchek@wsj.com, overseeing both the weekly glossy and the WSJ lifestyle section, in the newly-created post of weekend editorial director…

FOOD & WINE* magazine welcomed new senior editor Kay Chun, kay.chun@aexp.com…

WHITEWALL art and lifestyle magazine named Amani Olu, amani@whitewallmag.com and @amaniolu, as managing editor…

HEALTHLEADERS magazine tapped Jacqueline Fellows, jfellows@healthleadersmedia.com and @JaxFellows, as the publication’s new editor…

Wednesday News Round-Up for October 17th

We spent some time over the weekend watching skydiver Felix Baumbartner’s 24-mile fall from the stratosphere to terra firma.  For those of us who get queasy on a Ferris wheel at the fair, it was pretty remarkable—remarkable meaning terrifying.  Anyhoo, check out the magazine industry news while you’re here.  As always, titles with an asterisk* can be found in our helpful Wooden Horse Database.

T: THE NEW YORK TIMES STYLE MAGAZINE will relaunch on February 17 of next year.  The glossy will sport a new look and higher-quality paper stock, as well as a broader range of culture and style topics related to fashion, beauty, art, design, travel and lifestyle.  Two of the four design-themed issues will be eliminated, as the magazine reduces frequency from 15 to 13 issues per year in 2013, but every issue will contain some design content…

VARIETY reportedly may move its headquarters away from its current Wilshire Boulevard location when its lease expires in February of 2014…

UPTOWN, a regional magazine in Winnipeg, Manitoba, is being absorbed by the Winnipeg Free Press, and will be relaunched as a newspaper supplement on November 1…

PRIVATE LABEL, PRIVATE LABEL INTERNATIONAL and PRIVATE LABEL CHINA, three B2B titles covering store-branded retail products, were acquired by Stagnito Media from E.W. Williams Publications.  The terms of the deal were undisclosed.  Stagnito plans to combine Private Label with their existing title, STORE BRANDS, to create a new magazine, PRIVATE LABEL→ STORE BRANDS…

HARPER’S BAZAAR* lost executive editor Kristina O’Neill, who had been with the magazine for 12 years…

WSJ. MAGAZINE* snagged Kristina O’Neill, Kristina.oneill@wsj.com, as the new editor-in-chief, beginning on October 29.  She replaces Deborah Needleman, who recently left to take the helm at T: THE NEW YORK TIMES MAGAZINE…

MARIE CLAIRE* bid farewell to executive editor Joyce Chang…

COSMOPOLITAN* tapped Joyce Chang, joycechang@hearst.com and @moycemarg, as the new executive editor…

TV GUIDE* brought in new executive editor Doug Brod, doug.brod@tvguidemagazine.com…

MEN’S HEALTH* promoted Julie Stewart, julie.stewart@rodale.com and @stewartjulie, as the assistant editor for the magazine…

POZ* magazine promoted Oriol Gutierrez, oriolg@poz.com and @oriolgutierrez, from deputy editor to the new editor-in-chief…

WHIRL MAGAZINE in Pittsburgh hired Andrea Bosco, abosco@whirlmagazine.com, as a senior editor overseeing both the home and wedding guide sections…

FRESH CUT food industry magazine named Lee Dean, fcedit@freshcut.com, as the new editor-in-chief…

Friday News Round-Up for October 12th

Think before you kiss Fido.  Japanese researchers studying dental plaque from dogs and their owners found that (ick!) dogs and humans who swap spit have more bacteria that cause gum disease and tooth decay.  We’ll just let that sink in.  In the meantime, check out the latest industry news.  All titles with an asterisk* are part of our helpful Wooden Horse Database.

Conde Nast cut an estimated 60 staffers at its magazines throughout Wednesday and Thursday, as part of a new cost cutting measure…

SELF* axed eight editorial staffers late Wednesday, as Conde Nast began making deep cuts…

GLAMOUR* and GQ* magazines saw staff cuts on Thursday, as Conde Nast continued major cuts…

WHOLE LIVING* magazine is up for sale by owner Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia…

GLAMOUR* ousted senior executive editor Catherine Romano, as part of Conde Nast staff cuts…

VOGUE* said goodbye to senior editor Riza Cruz…

MARIE CLAIRE* picked up new executive editor Riza Cruz, rcruz@hearst.com…

MARIE CLAIRE* named Tracy Shaffer, tshaffer@hearst.com, as the new entertainment editor…

TEEN VOGUE* hired Elaine Welteroth, elaine_welteroth@condenast.com and @ElaineWelteroth, as beauty and health director…

BON APPETIT* named Allie Lewis Capp, no email available, as the new food editor…

PARENTS* magazine said goodbye to senior editor for he website Heather Morgan Shott…

COUNTRY LIVING* lost Page Mullins, assistant market editor, overseeing the holiday gift guide…

CIO MAGAZINE* bid farewell to managing editor Christine Celli…

Wednesday News Round-Up for October 10th

Apparently we all love to talk, talk, talk.  The U.N. telecom agency this week reported there are now 6 billion (!) cell phone subscriptions.  China alone boasts 1 billion, and India is on track to hit that mark by year’s end.  Before you reach out and touch someone, check out the news.  All titles with an asterisk* are part of the Wooden Horse Database.

VARIETY has been sold by Reed Elsevier to Penske Media for an estimated $25 million…

VARIETY new owner Jay Penske says he hasn’t yet made a final decision about whether to continue publishing print editions of the weekly magazine and daily publication…

VARIETY new owner Penske Media reportedly will eliminate the publication’s paywall…

GLAMOUR* magazine will unveil a website redesign in mid-November…

READER’S DIGEST* will go back to a full monthly publishing schedule in January 2013…

READER’S DIGEST* digital sales are on track to exceed print newsstand sales by December…

The OC Register Newspaper will debut a new Sunday magazine, with its own editorial staff.  No word yet on a title or a launch date…

DETAILS* promoted Matthew Marden, matthew_marden2@condenast.com and @detailsmatt, to fashion director…

DETAILS* magazine named Eugene Tong, eugene_tong@details.com and @detailseugene, as style director for the front-of-book style section…

SELF* magazine bid farewell to associate web editor Nicole Kwan…

THE HUFFINGTON POST* said goodbye to Natasha Burton, editor covering weddings and divorces…

PARENTS CANADA* managing editor and web editor Amy Bielby, bmyb@parentscanada.com and @bunoutoftheovern, is back from leave…

COLUMBUS MONTHLY* named Kristen Schmidt, kschmidt@columbusmonthly.com and @kristen_schmidt, as the magazine’s new editor…

HEALTH AFFAIRS magazine lost editor Ellen Ficklen, who oversaw the ‘Narrative Matters” section…

HEALTH AFFAIRS magazine executive editor Donald Metz, dmetz@projecthope.org, is the interim editor for the ‘Narrative Matters’ section…

Wednesday News Round-Up for October 3rd

If you’ve had your fill of presidential politics and debate hype this evening, grab some industry news here in a spin-free zone.  All titles with an asterisk* are included in the Wooden Horse Database.  Check it out at http://www.woodenhorsepub.com.

BLOOMBERG PURSUITS* magazine will increase its frequency from twice a year to a quarterly schedule in 2013…

HOUSE BEAUTIFUL* publisher Hearst will combine editorial departments for its design group of shelter magazines.  Hearst also is likely to eliminate positions as a result of the consolidation…

PARENTING SCHOOL YEARS* will increase its rate base to 575,000, a hike of 4.5%.  This will be second circulation jump since 2009 for the magazine…

AMERICAN BANKER* publisher SourceMedia is up for sale by its owner, Investcorp…

ASPEN MAGAZINE* has been acquired by Modern Luxury Media from owner Janet O’Grady, janran@aspenmagazine.com and @roving81611, who will stay on as the publication’s editor-in-chief…

CONSUMER REPORTS* currently is undergoing a major restructuring…

NEW YORK MAGAZINE* picked up Jessica Silvester, jessica.silvester@nymag.com, as shopping editor…

HOUSE BEAUTIFUL* Editor-in-Chief Newell Turner, no email available, @tnturner3, will become editor-in-chief for the Hearst magazine’s design group…

HOUSE BEAUTIFUL* will search for a new editor-in-chief to replace Newell Turner, who is being promoted…

BLOOMBERG BUSINESSWEEK* hired Emma Rosenblum, erosenblum2@bloomberg.net and @EmmaRosenblum, as editor for the ‘Etc’ section…

CONSUMER REPORTS* ousted editorial director Kevin McKean as part of its restructuring…

COMPLEX* magazine said goodbye to fashion assistant Frederick Marfil…

AMERICAN PHOTO* named Miriam Leuchter, miriam.leuchter@bonniercorp.com, as the new editor-in-chief…

CHEMICAL & ENGINEERING NEWS Editor-in-Chief Rudy Baum stepped down…

CHEMICAL & ENGINEERING NEWS promoted A Maureen Rouhi, m_rouhi@acs.org, to editor-in-chief…

Friday News Round-Up for September 21st

The 64th annual Primetime Emmy Awards are this Sunday. So whether your guilty pleasure is Downton Abbey, Mad Men, Breaking Bad or Game of Thrones, you can tune in and see who wins—or who does something stupid.  Either way, could be fun.  Before you start your weekend, check out the news.  All titles with an asterisk* are included in the Wooden Horse Database.

MAXIM* in 2013 will reduce its rate base from 2.5 to 2 million, and cut frequency from 11 times down to 10 times a year.  The December and January issues will be combined.  Both newsstand sales and paid subscriptions were down in the first half of 2012…

LUCKY* published special interest magazine, THE LUCKY STYLE GUIDE, covering fashion instead of shopping.  The one-off glossy is on sale from Friday, September 21 through December 31 of this year.  A tablet edition will be available beginning November 6.  Tresemme is the sole advertising sponsor…

PALM BEACH WOMAN, a regional magazine targeting professional women, was sold to Lauren Malis of The Luxe Group.  The Palm Beach-based events and marketing company is now the publisher…

BRIDES* magazine promoted Keija Minor, keija_minor@condenast.com, from executive editor to editor-in-chief.  She is the first person of color to be named editor-in-chief of a Conde Nast publication…

SEVENTEEN* bid farewell to senior editor Kim Tranell…

MEN’S FITNESS* picked up Kim Tranell, ktranell@mensfitness.com and @ktranell, as the interim senior web editor.  Tranell is accepting pitches for the holiday gift guide, as well as for article content, daily blogs and sideshows…

PREVENTION* welcomed Stephanie Eckelkamp, stephanie.eckelkamp@rodale.com and @steph_eck, as associate editor for nutrition…

NYLON* magazine said goodbye to beauty director Lily Nima…

EVERY DAY WITH RACHAEL RAY* lost associate food editor Nicole Cherie Jones…

TIME* brought in new social media editor Kelly Conniff, kelly_conniff@timeinc.com and @kellyconniff…

LUXE INTERIORS + DESIGN named Caren Kurlander, ckurlander@sandowmedia.com, as the new features editor, beginning October 1…

Friday News Round-Up for September 14th

This week McDonald’s announced it would begin posting calorie contents, and would begin offering healthier options like egg white McMuffins.  Great idea, but in spite of knowing what’s really in them, we’re still jonesing for some crispy deep-fried hash browns.  Before you indulge in some comfort food this weekend, check out the news.  All titles with an asterisk* can be found in our Wooden Horse Database.

READER’S DIGEST* is increasing its frequency from 10 times per year to a monthly schedule.  The magazine attributes the change to demand from subscribers…

WSJ. MAGAZINE* will up its frequency to 11 issues per year in 2013, and to 12 issue a year in 2014…

THE WALRUS* Canadian magazine debuted a website redesign and a new web address; http://thewalrus.ca

PennWell has acquired Elsevier’s public safety magazine group, which includes trade publications THE JOURNAL OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES, FIRE RESCUE and LAW OFFICER, along with their associated websites and other related properties…

NEW YORK FAMILY* and AVENUE* publisher, Manhattan Media, is up for sale…

URBANITE, a regional magazine covering urban affairs in Baltimore, will shutter at the end of September, and the current issue will be the last.  The magazine reportedly has been struggling since 2008, when it lost a key investor and advertiser…

O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE* hired Jihan Thompson, jthompson@hearst.com and @jihanthompson, as the new health editor…

SPORTS ILUSTRATED* currently is using guest editors to audition for the managing editor post at the magazine…

THE DEAL announced on Thursday that executive editor Yvette Kantrow will leave the magazine, after 13 years in her post…

PC WORLD* named Jon Phillips, jphillips@pcworld.com and @jonphillipssf, as the publication’s editor…

PC WORLD* bid farewell to editor and columnist Edward Albro…

MODERN HEALTHCARE* no longer has managing editor Neil McLaughlin.  No replacement has been named at this time…