Newsweek is returning to print

ImageNEWSWEEK will be back on the newsstand on Friday, March 11, in smaller numbers than in its heyday (70,000 copies vs 3 million.) Editor-in-Chief Jim Lompoco calls it a boutique magazine and at US$7.99 a copy it is definitely a luxury product. Two separate editions will be produced: One for the US and one for Europe.

The editorial will not just be a rehash of the week’s news. “It is good writers doing good reporting with good photographers,” the European editor, Richard Addis, told theguardian.com.

The title is now owned by IBT Media, a network of digital properties founded by two 30-somethings, Johnathan Davis and Etienne Uzac. They acquired it from media mogul Barry Diller, who spent millions but finally gave up on the print edition and combined it with the Daily Beast, the news website. Mr. Davies and Mr. Uzac just tripled the title’s web traffic, so who knows, maybe they can bring the print weekly back to life after all.

Advertisements

Canadian Living gets an overhaul

Canadian Living magazine coverCANADIAN LIVING, the “smart solutions for everyday living” magazine, has received a refresh starting with the September issue.

It aims to be the “ultimate source and advisor of relevant lifestyle and food information and inspiration for busy women,” according to its media kit. Therefore the redesigned title will incorporate more fashion and beauty, an expanded health section with new experts, stories about sex and relationships, tips for busy moms, easy home decor solutions, timely life news and topical buzz, as well as travel stories and original photography.

“I want this magazine to talk to my mom, who’s had it for a long time, and I want it to be my magazine, and a magazine for my friends, and I know that we can do that through a lot of the content,” Editor-in-Chief Jennifer Reynolds said in an interview.

The magazine is published by TC Media. Olga Kosta, ocosta@canadianliving.com, is the managing editor and the new health editor is Kate Daley, kate.daley@canadianliving.com.

Wednesday News Round-Up for October 24th

Were you among the breathless Apple fans anxiously awaiting the iPad mini’s debut yesterday?  Some were underwhelmed, in part because of cost.  While the size is indeed mini (weighing in at just .68 pounds), the price is not ($329).  It’s just $70 less than a full-size iPad, quite a bit higher than Kindle Fire.  Whatever device you’re reading this on, remember that all titles listed with an asterisk* here are included in the Wooden Horse Database.

NEWSWEEK* will actively push current subscribers to make a switch to the digital format ahead of closing the print magazine…

NEWSWEEK* reportedly is negotiating with Time Inc, which wants to buy Newsweek’s print subscriber list.  Time Inc purchased a subscriber list from US NEWS & WORLD REPORT* when its print product was shuttered…

HEALTHY COOKING magazine will shut down, and publisher Reader’s Digest Association will fold the title into TASTE OF HOME*.  Healthy Cooking’s 516,000 subscribers will be transferred to Taste of Home, and Taste of Home’s ‘Healthy Choices’ section will double in size…

TIME* debuted a website redesign, using “responsive design,” which adjusts for all media platforms, and is easier to navigate.  Visitors also will find a less cluttered layout with less red…

Publishers Rodale, Hearst and Time Inc are in talks with TV celeb Dr. Mehmet Oz to develop an eponymous health magazine…

WIRED* magazine announced it will increase its rate base for the eleventh consecutive year, hiking it to 825,000…

THE ADVOCATE*, the nation’s longest-running LGBT magazine, says rumors of its demise are completely false.  Erroneous reports claimed the publication would end at the end of 2012…

AMERICAN ARTIST* announced on October 17 that it has ceased publication after 75 years, and an estimated 45 employees will be laid off.  The magazine is published by Interweave, which was purchased by F + W Media in late July…

YOGA JOURNAL* will raise its rate base for 2013, from 350,000 to 375,000…

VEGETARIAN TIMES* is raising its rate base for next year, to 315,000…

ELLE* accessories director, Kate Davidson Hudson, has left the publication…

ELLE* senior accessories editor, Stefania Allen, has departed from the magazine…

HARPER’S BAZAAR* promoted Nicole Fritton, nfritton@hearst.com, to fashion market & accessories director…

HARPER’S BAZAAR* welcomed Joanna Hillman, jhillman@hearst.com and @johillman, as the new style director…

HARPER’S BAZAAR* named Elise Lipsky-Karasz, no email available, as the new features director, replacing Anamarie Wilson…

MARIE CLAIRE* no longer has assistant fashion editor Ashley Afriyie…

MARIE CLAIRE* promoted Jenna Blaha, jblaha@hearst.com, to assistant fashion editor…

ARCHITECTURAL DIGEST* welcomed new associate market editor Stephanie Schomer, stephanie_schomer@condenast.com…

WSJ. MAGAZINE* now will have Ruth Altchek, ruth.altchek@wsj.com, overseeing both the weekly glossy and the WSJ lifestyle section, in the newly-created post of weekend editorial director…

FOOD & WINE* magazine welcomed new senior editor Kay Chun, kay.chun@aexp.com…

WHITEWALL art and lifestyle magazine named Amani Olu, amani@whitewallmag.com and @amaniolu, as managing editor…

HEALTHLEADERS magazine tapped Jacqueline Fellows, jfellows@healthleadersmedia.com and @JaxFellows, as the publication’s new editor…

Losing my religion: Your view of Newsweek’s print demise depends on your ‘beliefs’

This was a week when everyone agreed on the questions.

Is it the death of one magazine, or a spreading epidemic that soon will wipe out an entire category?

Was it a natural death, or self-inflicted?

Is print, as a species, doomed to extinction?

But if we all shared the same questions, the answers depended greatly on what beliefs you brought to the table.

“Babies born now will never read anything in print.  Face the reality that print will eventually go away,” said Ben Horowitz, technology entrepreneur, speaking at the American Magazine Conference on October 17, 2012.

“Print is not dead.  NEWSWEEK* is committing suicide…” wrote Samir Husni, Mr. Magazine, in his blog entry for October 18, 2012—shortly after he tweeted that Tina Brown is the Dr. Kevorkian of the newsweeklies.  Ouch.

The juxtaposition of Newsweek’s print demise and the national magazine conference, in the same week, brought into sharp focus the industry’s most basic survival issues.

It also divided those involved with the industry according to their ‘religions,’ pitting Print True Believers who love the medium, like Husni, against Digital Zen adherents like Horowitz.  Others, who are Media Pragmatists, expressed the belief that while some magazine categories, such as fashion, may always have some physical print presence, screens and channels are destined to be where content lives out its life.

The truth is that Newsweek, like all newsweeklies, carried special burdens.  A weekly publishing schedule freights a magazine with higher printing and distribution costs.  And there was the squeeze of being caught between the frenzied 24/7 news cycle of the internet and cable, and monthly magazines, like THE ECONOMIST*, that have the time to produce quality, in-depth journalism with context.  Unable to be truly timely on one end or give thoughtful examination on the other, Newsweek often compensated with sensationalism and superficiality.

Will the magazine find contentment in its digital afterlife?  Your answer may depend on your religion.

Friday News Round-Up for October 19th

Hey, we’re all for seasonal favorites when it comes to food, but some ideas are just a bridge too far.  Comes word that Japanese Burger King restaurants currently are serving pumpkin burgers.  Think bacon burgers, but with lots of Jack-o-lantern slices added for good measure.  “Have it your way,” right?  Hmmm.   Before you go in search of that perfect snack, catch up on the industry news.  When you see an asterisk*, that indicates a title you’ll find in our Wooden Horse Database.

NEWSWEEK* magazine, in print since 1933, will cease its print edition and go all-digital at year’s end, Editor-in-Chief Tina Brown announced this week.  The final print issue is scheduled for December 31.  Cuts in editorial and business staffs are expected as a result of the changes…

NEWSWEEK* will relaunch in 2013 as a tablet-only magazine, titled NEWSWEEK GLOBAL…

L STYLE G STYLE, an Austin, Texas-based magazine targeting the LGBT community, will suspend publication while seeking investment to go national.  The publication only recently went from serving Austin, to covering the entire state…

SPORTS ILLUSTRATED* Editor-in-Chief and Time Inc Sports Group editor Terry McDonell stepped down from his post…

SPORTS ILLUSTRATED* tapped Chris Stone, chris_stone@simail.com, as the new managing editor.  Stone has been with the magazine for 20 years…

Time Inc named Paul Fichtenbaum as editor for the Sports Group, replacing the recently departed Terry McDonell…

REDBOOK* welcomed Leslie Robarge, lrobarge@hearst.com, as a deputy editor…

REDBOOK* welcomed Tiffany Blackstone, tblackstone@hearst.com, as a deputy editor…

REDBOOK* tapped Sarah Smith, no email available, as a deputy editor…

MAXIM* magazine brought in new assistant editor Cameron Berkman, cberkman@maxim.com and @camonrye…

CRAIN’S NEW YORK BUSINESS* promoted Jeremy Smerd, jsmerd@crainsnewyork.com and @smerd, to managing editor…

BOSTON MAGAZINE* welcomed associate digital editor for health Melissa Malamut, mmalamut@bostonmagazine.com and @melissamalamut…

Wednesday News Round-Up for October 17th

We spent some time over the weekend watching skydiver Felix Baumbartner’s 24-mile fall from the stratosphere to terra firma.  For those of us who get queasy on a Ferris wheel at the fair, it was pretty remarkable—remarkable meaning terrifying.  Anyhoo, check out the magazine industry news while you’re here.  As always, titles with an asterisk* can be found in our helpful Wooden Horse Database.

T: THE NEW YORK TIMES STYLE MAGAZINE will relaunch on February 17 of next year.  The glossy will sport a new look and higher-quality paper stock, as well as a broader range of culture and style topics related to fashion, beauty, art, design, travel and lifestyle.  Two of the four design-themed issues will be eliminated, as the magazine reduces frequency from 15 to 13 issues per year in 2013, but every issue will contain some design content…

VARIETY reportedly may move its headquarters away from its current Wilshire Boulevard location when its lease expires in February of 2014…

UPTOWN, a regional magazine in Winnipeg, Manitoba, is being absorbed by the Winnipeg Free Press, and will be relaunched as a newspaper supplement on November 1…

PRIVATE LABEL, PRIVATE LABEL INTERNATIONAL and PRIVATE LABEL CHINA, three B2B titles covering store-branded retail products, were acquired by Stagnito Media from E.W. Williams Publications.  The terms of the deal were undisclosed.  Stagnito plans to combine Private Label with their existing title, STORE BRANDS, to create a new magazine, PRIVATE LABEL→ STORE BRANDS…

HARPER’S BAZAAR* lost executive editor Kristina O’Neill, who had been with the magazine for 12 years…

WSJ. MAGAZINE* snagged Kristina O’Neill, Kristina.oneill@wsj.com, as the new editor-in-chief, beginning on October 29.  She replaces Deborah Needleman, who recently left to take the helm at T: THE NEW YORK TIMES MAGAZINE…

MARIE CLAIRE* bid farewell to executive editor Joyce Chang…

COSMOPOLITAN* tapped Joyce Chang, joycechang@hearst.com and @moycemarg, as the new executive editor…

TV GUIDE* brought in new executive editor Doug Brod, doug.brod@tvguidemagazine.com…

MEN’S HEALTH* promoted Julie Stewart, julie.stewart@rodale.com and @stewartjulie, as the assistant editor for the magazine…

POZ* magazine promoted Oriol Gutierrez, oriolg@poz.com and @oriolgutierrez, from deputy editor to the new editor-in-chief…

WHIRL MAGAZINE in Pittsburgh hired Andrea Bosco, abosco@whirlmagazine.com, as a senior editor overseeing both the home and wedding guide sections…

FRESH CUT food industry magazine named Lee Dean, fcedit@freshcut.com, as the new editor-in-chief…

Wednesday News Round-Up for October 10th

Apparently we all love to talk, talk, talk.  The U.N. telecom agency this week reported there are now 6 billion (!) cell phone subscriptions.  China alone boasts 1 billion, and India is on track to hit that mark by year’s end.  Before you reach out and touch someone, check out the news.  All titles with an asterisk* are part of the Wooden Horse Database.

VARIETY has been sold by Reed Elsevier to Penske Media for an estimated $25 million…

VARIETY new owner Jay Penske says he hasn’t yet made a final decision about whether to continue publishing print editions of the weekly magazine and daily publication…

VARIETY new owner Penske Media reportedly will eliminate the publication’s paywall…

GLAMOUR* magazine will unveil a website redesign in mid-November…

READER’S DIGEST* will go back to a full monthly publishing schedule in January 2013…

READER’S DIGEST* digital sales are on track to exceed print newsstand sales by December…

The OC Register Newspaper will debut a new Sunday magazine, with its own editorial staff.  No word yet on a title or a launch date…

DETAILS* promoted Matthew Marden, matthew_marden2@condenast.com and @detailsmatt, to fashion director…

DETAILS* magazine named Eugene Tong, eugene_tong@details.com and @detailseugene, as style director for the front-of-book style section…

SELF* magazine bid farewell to associate web editor Nicole Kwan…

THE HUFFINGTON POST* said goodbye to Natasha Burton, editor covering weddings and divorces…

PARENTS CANADA* managing editor and web editor Amy Bielby, bmyb@parentscanada.com and @bunoutoftheovern, is back from leave…

COLUMBUS MONTHLY* named Kristen Schmidt, kschmidt@columbusmonthly.com and @kristen_schmidt, as the magazine’s new editor…

HEALTH AFFAIRS magazine lost editor Ellen Ficklen, who oversaw the ‘Narrative Matters” section…

HEALTH AFFAIRS magazine executive editor Donald Metz, dmetz@projecthope.org, is the interim editor for the ‘Narrative Matters’ section…